Posted in Movie Reviews, Uncategorized

Movie Review: Braveheart (1995)

braveheart-poster
Director: Mel Gibson
Actor: Mel Gibson, Sophie Marceau, Catherine McCormack

Synopsis

A Scot fights for the freedom of his people i.e. the Scots, after his wife is killed by English soldiers.

pros

During the whole course of the movie, you get to enjoy the beautiful views of Scotland. Mel Gibson has played his role as William Wallace to perfection. The battles had me closing my eyes, which is exactly the expected reaction to any medieval battle scene. I was especially laughing out aloud during the scene where they bare their privates at the English before the battle. I loved the bagpipes playing every once in awhile. I am in LOVE with the Scottish accent! No in the naaw!

cons

The whole storyline could have been a true story in my mind till the French princess goes and falls in love with Wallace. Seriously? Maybe they didn’t want to make the movie just perfect. Other than that, to my amateur eye, I couldn’t find any other flaw. Though their accents seemed to shift from Scottish to the British accent easily, even though it was a Scot like Wallace talking.

Reason I watched

It was always on my to-watch list and on many to-watch lists online. Who can forget that one scene, “They may take our lives, but they’ll never take our FREEEEEDOM!!!!!!”.

Would I recommend you to watch?

Well, you need to understand their Scottish accent. The movie is set in the 1300s, so expect a medieval wardrobe. Sit through almost 3 hours of the movie without dozing. Watch Wallace romance 2 ladies. Watch gory battles. Watch horses being killed and stabbed. If you can bear all the above mentioned hurdles, I would definitely recommend this movie! It was a really good movie.
It’s funny how movies released a century ago can still affect us (me mostly).
Freeeeeeeedommmmmmm!

Author:

a happy person, sometimes mourning for no reason.

2 thoughts on “Movie Review: Braveheart (1995)

Do let me know your opinion. I love opinions! :D

