Posted in Movie Reviews

Movie Review: God’s Not Dead (2014)

Like I mentioned in one of my previous posts; I am a Catholic. But, I do get lost sometimes and like to believe I would fare better as an Atheist. Everything will be much better if I just stop believing in some greater power. This movie made me rethink that.
It is a Christian movie about how when freshmen are made to acknowledge that God is dead by their philosophy professor, one among them is unable to carry out that task. He risks everything; even his relationship and his dream of being a lawyer to fight for his faith. It showcases the lives of 8 characters: Josh (the Christian freshman), A Chinese freshman, Aisha (a Muslim student), Jeffrey Radisson (the Atheist professor), Mina (his Christian girlfriend), Amy (A blogger), her Atheist boyfriend, David (A pastor). How they each react to their belief or lack of it.
I am not an advocate in people changing their religion to believe in God so the Aisha story was a little lost on me. God is a greater power that all religions believe in. God is a universal power. So, changing your religion defeats the purpose of your faith.
I asked a relative what they would do if they were made to perform the task of acknowledging that God is Dead, and their prompt reply was that they would do it; it just goes to show the decreasing hold of religion on the new generations. God would just be a name in a few more generations. Why oh why is it so hard to say I believe in God without looking like a fool? It’s like saying, “Aliens exist!”. Some people will nod seriously and agree. Others will just stare at you with a shocked expression and then laugh thinking you were just kidding.
The scene I loved the most was between Mina’s brother and mother. Here goes:

Mark (to his mother): You prayed and believed your whole life. Never done anything wrong. And here you are. You’re the nicest person I know. I am the meanest. You have dementia. My life is perfect. Explain that to me!
Mina’s Mother: Sometimes the devil allows people to live a life free of trouble because he doesn’t want them turning to God. Their sin is like a jail cell, except it is all nice and comfy and there doesn’t seem to be any reason to leave. The door’s wide open. Till one day, time runs out, and the cell door slams shut, and suddenly it’s too late.

Some reviews say that this movie was made to be the right fodder for believers. It doesn’t make any sense to those that do not believe i.e. It doesn’t make its exact point. That God does indeed exist.
Well I would say, Belief is and should be each person’s own choice.
P.S. God is Not Dead!

Author:

a happy person, sometimes mourning for no reason.

Do let me know your opinion. I love opinions! :D

