Posted in Movie Reviews

Movie Review – Places of the Heart (1984)

image

Directed: Robert Benton
Starring: Sally Field, Danny Glover, John Malkovich, Ed Harris

This is a movie that has captured my childhood memories with its pure story and its amazing music. Though most of the songs are church hymns, there is no song that can get me humming like “Blessed Assurance”.

“This is my story, This is my song,
Praising my saviour, All the day long.”

The plot is about a lady, (Sally Field) who gets widowed when her husband is accidently shot by a drunk young boy. The story follows the life of the naive young widow, who entrusts her faith in a wandering black man, and takes in a blind boarder. Her two children take to both these men fast. But, her sudden loss makes her realize that they owed the bank for their property.
It is a slow story and obviously a very old one. But, it is one of the good ones that can make you smile.
I have a special appreciation for Sally Field after watching this movie.

“This is my story, This is my song,
Praising my saviour, All the day long.”

Author:

a happy person, sometimes mourning for no reason.

3 thoughts on “Movie Review – Places of the Heart (1984)

Do let me know your opinion. I love opinions! :D

