Movie Review: The Exorcism of Emily Rose (2005)

Director
Scott Derrickson
Starring
Jennifer Carpenter, Tom Wilkinson, Laura Linney
Rating
* * * *

These days I have this craze for horror movies. I constantly force my friends to watch them with me (I am such a coward to watch them alone πŸ˜€ ). Whenever I know they are free at home, I land myself at their place and plant the great idea into their minds, “Hey !! Let’s watch that movie ! The one that we are too scared to watch !”. And my friend sportingly always (ALWAYS) agrees πŸ˜€

The Exorcism of Emily Rose has always been one of those have-to watch movies in my have-to watch horror movies list πŸ˜› But like I said, I am a coward and I kinda freak out seeing my own shadow once I watch any horror movie alone. So, I was waiting for the perfect time to check this movie off. And it is checked-off !!!! πŸ˜€

The movie is about a Emily Rose (Jennifer Carpenter) who gets possessed and how when a Catholic priest (Tom Wilkinson) tries to perform exorcism on her and she eventually dies. The state blames the priest for the death, for the priest not conforming with the medical world’s verdict of her condition to be epileptic and psychotic. The whole movie is shown in the courtroom where Erin Bruner (Laura Linney) is defending the priest and each statement from witnesses is shown as a flashback.

From the minute the movie started, my friend and I were staring at the screen with our eyes peeled for some thing that would shock the hell out of us. πŸ˜€

There were moments in the movie when my friend was like, “We should stop watching”, and I was like, “You wanna stop ?” but in my mind I was like, “No ! No ! Plssss… I wanna watch it ! Plss ! Don’t say yes !”

The movie seriously lived up to my expectations… We both jumped in the very first 10mins of the movie when the cat hissed, so you can guess how jittery we were… πŸ˜€ πŸ˜‰

The main possession scene scared us so badly that we both were covering our faces and watching through our fingers.

All the contortions, the voices, the scratching on the wall, the jumping-kneeling combo, the eating of insects, all the occurrences at 3am, the different languages especially the 1,2,3,4,5,SIX in Latin !! So, creepy and scary !!

The Insidious series was nothing compared to this movie ! I am so so so glad I didn’t watch it alone.

I must add, my friend has temporarily banned us from viewing any more horror movies πŸ˜€

3 thoughts on “Movie Review: The Exorcism of Emily Rose (2005)

  1. God!! U checked this movie off ur list, I’ll make sure it doesn’t land on mine, ever ….:P U kno how scared I get in broad daylight… πŸ˜€ Now, m reading this review at this hour….hope I survive the night. πŸ˜›

    Liked by 1 person

Do let me know your opinion. I love opinions! :D

