Posted in Book Reviews

My thoughts on… The Perks of being a Wallflower by Stephen Chbosky

My Inspiration to read this book

Well, Shweta and I have a habit of telling each other about any book that we think we would love to read. If the book is too good (like Home Front by Kristine Hannah and Walk To Remember by Nicholas Sparks) the book gets shared to Pooja. 😀 We are the filters. 

I came across a list of Top 10 books to be read. Not very sure about the exact name of the list. But on the list, The Perks of being a Wallflower was listed and so was TFIOS ❤ 🙂 so, I thought, “Let’s try it !!”.

When I got the chance, I downloaded the movie. After watching it, I felt I should read the book coz books always seem to be described more in detail. You are taken into the writer’s world. Sometimes in the movie you don’t really understand what the actor is trying to portray. But, books describe exactly what the protagonist is feeling and you enter into the world of the book !

I got my hands (actually my virtual hands) on the pdf here: The Perks of being a Wallflower. Thanks static.tumblr.com ! 🙂 ❤

After reading the book, I completely forgot what was shown in it’s movie adaptation. I guess I have to set up a date with myself and watch it again 😀 XD

My mind conflicts throughout the book

What exactly happened to Charlie that he’s so mentally unstable? Can Sam and Patrick help him? Why would his sister still support her first boyfriend? Why isn’t his brother connected to the family as much as the others? Why don’t the parents take special interest in him? Shouldn’t they have noticed some tell-tale patterns before he broke down the second time? 

Why I loved this book?

There are some pages in this book that really struck me as true. Some pages shocked me to the core. Some pages made me wonder about what were some of the characters thinking. But on the whole, this book held my mind captive for over a week.

I loved these lines by Sam:

I’m going to do what I want to. I’m going to be who I really am. And I’m going to figure out

what that is. But right now I’m here with you. And I want to know where you are, what you need, and what you want to do.

So, damn true !! I wish I could do that; Say what I really want to say; Do what I really want to do; Ask for what I need. And I wish people would follow this too.

The following line by Sam also striked me as soo true:

But the thing is, I wasn’t being honest. So, why would I care whether or not he loved me

when he didn’t really even know me?

How can we expect people to know us, really know us; when we filter, what we want to say and do, around them ?

Author:

a happy person, sometimes mourning for no reason.

Do let me know your opinion. I love opinions! :D

