Posted in Quilling

the start of my Quilling journey…..

I guess this is my first post on something that can actually be done to pass our time. 😀 All the other posts seem to have nothing to do with the name of my blog. 😀

Well, the first time I heard about or saw Quilling was when one of my favorite college professors, posted a photo of her creation online for some competition. It was soo beautiful !! I just loved it ! ❤ But I guess I was too lazy and uninspired to try quilling during that part of my life.

Then I had my second rendezvous with quilling when my friend(my-one-true-fan), Shweta made me a birthday card using quilling. It was, obviously, beautiful and I treasure it and will always treasure it always.

Then during the boring days, when I didn’t have any work in office, I thought, “Why not try out quilling? It’s the best time now. Now or never.” So, one boring Sunday afternoon, I finally dragged my lazy bum all the way to the city and bought a quilling set, which contained a pack of assorted color strips, a quilling needle, a small bottle of glue and instructions.

That evening, my relative, Zenelda and I tried out our first quilling creation. It looked awesome and it turned out great which fired up my interest in quilling.

My First ever Quilled card... my creation with help from Zenelda :)
My First ever Quilled card… my creation with help from Zenelda 🙂
Quilling using comb.. Easiest thing eveeer !!
Quilling using comb.. Easiest thing eveeer !!

Quilling using comb

Quilled Flowers - Quilled Rose and Fringed Flowers
Quilled Flowers – Quilled Rose and Fringed Flowers

Quilled Roses

Quilled Fringed Flowers

And then ideas started creeping into my mind. Why not gift Shweta with a great quilled card? Why not gift my family with a nice quilled Christmas card? And that’s how my great quilling journey started…. 😉

I made a quilled card for Shweta’s birthday which is a copy of a design on net. It contained 14 roses which were stuck on branches with green leaves.

To tell you the truth, learning how to make quilled roses was a pain. But, the end result always turned out beautiful. It takes a whole lot of patience to make all the turns and folds for each rose, and surprisingly, I managed to make around 15 roses without killing myself. 😛

My trials at making quilled roses...
My trials at making quilled roses…
Shweta's Bday quilled card - with Quilled Roses and leaves
Shweta’s Bday quilled card – with Quilled Roses and leaves

Now I’m planning on making some quilling goodies for Christmas and some Christmas cards for friends and family. Wish me luck !! 😀 I’ll post the pictures here once done.

Thanks to the myriad of quilling tutorials on the net, I have finally mastered the art of quilling. Thank you World Wide Web !! ⭐

Author:

a happy person, sometimes mourning for no reason.

12 thoughts on “the start of my Quilling journey…..

      1. I too had the same question when I saw the different designs on the Internet. I used a simple trick.

        For the card: I curved the quilling strips to the curve I wanted for the stems. Then, I placed the curved strip on the base and used super glue (at the edge of all the curves) to stick the strips. A tiny drop at every curve suffices. I generally use Fevi kwik, works faster ! 😀
        I used the quilling tool to curl the strips, but I guess any other method works just as well.

        Hope that helped 🙂

        Please do send me a pic of your quilling project, if you are working on one. I would love to see it. 🙂

        Like

  1. I thought so too – sticking with some glue… I just wanted to make sure if there was some other techniques to glue those thin strips of paper…

    I am not working on a quilling project right now… But I will definitely link you to it once I have something going 🙂

    Thanks a lot!!

    Like

Do let me know your opinion. I love opinions! :D

